Graphics Issues with Radeon 6970

Use this forum to chat with the makers of VP3DL, ask guestions, offer suggestions or even just tell them how much you like the game. Post VP3DL bug reports here. Please post any next gen suggestions in the Virtual Pool 3 Nextgen forum.

Moderators: 9balldotcom, vpeer

Graphics Issues with Radeon 6970

Postby cuefox » Sun May 15, 2011 9:39 am

Hi

I just finished a new build, i7 2600K with 2 Radeon 6970 cards in Crossfire.

OS is Windows 7 Ultimate 64, screen res is 1920x1200

When I first installed VP3 (DL version 3.3.1.1) the graphics were very patchy, big trails, just about managed to change video mode to "desktop window"

It looks fine now but the resolution is very small, I can't seem to drag the window to increase the size, whatever size I drag it too it just snaps back to the original window size.
Would really appreciate any help, long time VP3 player here.

The only option in the video mode screen is "desktop window"

I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling, same issue.

Is it possible to use command line options to force VP3 to start in a bigger window size?

Thanks
cuefox
Wannabe
Wannabe
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 9:29 am

Re: Graphics Issues with Radeon 6970

Postby zwylle » Sun May 15, 2011 12:02 pm

Have you tried starting the game in XP compatibility mode?
I'm not familar with dual video cards, but is there a way to disable one?

Looks like VP3 has trouble detecting your card.
I don't know of an option to force full screen, although the current mode is probably stored somewhere in the registry.
______________
"If I can accomplish a minor task thousands have already completed, using readily available methods and tools, then I can do anything!" (Unknown)
User avatar
zwylle
Cuemaster
Cuemaster
 
Posts: 869
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:47 am
Location: Germany

Re: Graphics Issues with Radeon 6970

Postby cuefox » Tue May 17, 2011 7:11 am

Yeah, tried the compatibility mode thing, no good
cuefox
Wannabe
Wannabe
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 9:29 am

Re: Graphics Issues with Radeon 6970

Postby Freeball » Tue May 17, 2011 9:47 am

Have mentioned this before on other posts, but have you installed directx 9.0c, the game uses some old directx files only found in 9.0c.

Freeball (Ron)
Freeball
 

Re: Graphics Issues with Radeon 6970

Postby cuefox » Wed May 18, 2011 10:53 am

Thanks for the suggestion, I tried to install DirectX 9.0c but I couldn't find a way. The installer detects DX11 and just exits.

Anyone know a way of installing the missing components?
cuefox
Wannabe
Wannabe
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 9:29 am

Re: Graphics Issues with Radeon 6970

Postby DARKH0RSE » Wed May 18, 2011 1:20 pm

Check if your graphics driver is up to date .
people need to learn "its a game , and a game by definition can be either won or lost .
If you take away the ability to win or lose you are no longer playing a game and your time is not spent challenging your skill over another's instead your time is now worthless and wasted.
User avatar
DARKH0RSE
Banger
Banger
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 7:32 am
Location: UK

Re: Graphics Issues with Radeon 6970

Postby zwylle » Wed May 18, 2011 1:34 pm

All files for DX9 should be already part of Win7.

There is a log file called message.txt in the VP3 installation folder.
C:\Program Files (x86)\Celeris\Virtual Pool 3 DL\message.txt if you installed to the default.
It gets updated every time VP3 starts.

You may find a clue in there on what's going on.
______________
"If I can accomplish a minor task thousands have already completed, using readily available methods and tools, then I can do anything!" (Unknown)
User avatar
zwylle
Cuemaster
Cuemaster
 
Posts: 869
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:47 am
Location: Germany

Re: Graphics Issues with Radeon 6970

Postby cuefox » Thu May 19, 2011 12:38 pm

this is my message.log file

Clearing log file

aticfx32.dll
AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
vendor id = 4098, device id = 26392, subsystem = 825235074, revision = 0
driver version = 0
GUID = d7b71ee2-2458-11cf-3275-3011afc2cd35
Video memory available = -61923328

aticfx32.dll
AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
vendor id = 4098, device id = 26392, subsystem = 825235074, revision = 0
driver version = 0
GUID = d7b71ee2-2458-11cf-3275-3011afc2cd35
Video memory available = -61923328

Creating window mode 784 x 562
Created window mode
GUID = 84e63de0, buffer = 11cf46aa
TestPixelPokeCapability 32 bit - value read back = bf000080
Poking
Creating window mode 784 x 562
Created window mode
GUID = 84e63de0, buffer = 11cf46aa
TestPixelPokeCapability 32 bit - value read back = bf000080
Poking
Creating window mode 784 x 562
Created window mode
GUID = 84e63de0, buffer = 11cf46aa
TestPixelPokeCapability 32 bit - value read back = bf000080
Poking
Creating window mode 784 x 562
Created window mode
GUID = 84e63de0, buffer = 11cf46aa
TestPixelPokeCapability 32 bit - value read back = bf000080
Poking
Creating window mode 784 x 562
Created window mode
GUID = 84e63de0, buffer = 11cf46aa
TestPixelPokeCapability 32 bit - value read back = bf000080
Poking
Creating window mode 784 x 562
Created window mode
GUID = 84e63de0, buffer = 11cf46aa
TestPixelPokeCapability 32 bit - value read back = bf000080
Poking
Creating window mode 784 x 562
Created window mode
GUID = 84e63de0, buffer = 11cf46aa
TestPixelPokeCapability 32 bit - value read back = bf000080
Poking


Any clues?
cuefox
Wannabe
Wannabe
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 9:29 am

Re: Graphics Issues with Radeon 6970

Postby vpeer » Thu May 19, 2011 6:07 pm

Looks like an issue with the video memory being over 4GB. Is that true, your cards are 2GB each or greater video memory?
vpeer
VIP
VIP
 
Posts: 868
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 2:49 pm

Re: Graphics Issues with Radeon 6970

Postby cuefox » Fri May 20, 2011 3:28 am

Yes, the cards are 2GB each.

Is it possible that VP3 doesnt like Crossfire?
cuefox
Wannabe
Wannabe
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 9:29 am

Re: Graphics Issues with Radeon 6970

Postby 9balldotcom » Fri May 20, 2011 10:55 am

nvidias similar feature can be switched off...id assume that crossfire has a similar option.
User avatar
9balldotcom
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2046
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 1:37 pm
Location: Kilmarnock(Scotland)

Re: Graphics Issues with Radeon 6970

Postby cuefox » Fri May 20, 2011 11:51 am

OK, got it working.

1) Uninstalled VP3 DL
2) Deleted the reg key HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Celeris\Virtual Pool 3 DL\Current Version, to ensure a clean uninstall
3) Disabled Crossfire from Catalyst Control Center
4) Re-installed VP3 DL, set video mode to desktop window.
5) Verified I could stretch window to near full screen size
6) Re-enabled Crossfire.

Works a treat, thanks for all the suggestions, wouldnt have got it sorted without them.
cuefox
Wannabe
Wannabe
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 9:29 am


Return to Communicate with Celeris

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron