VP3 stopped working

General discussion for anything related to the Virtual Pool 3 DL game play including Career, Tournaments, Computer Opponents, Trick Shots, and Quick Play.

Moderator: 9balldotcom

VP3 stopped working

Postby Diver » Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:51 am

Hi All,

I've had VP3 (download version) installed on my Vista laptop for a couple of years now and it's just stopped working. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling.

I can use the trick shot/setup table but when I try to play a proper game (either quick play or career play) it hangs before the room loads. On career play it allows me to select game and create a new human player, plays the intro movie (or allows me to skip it) then hangs.

Any ideas?

Having investigated this further I can see there is no list of computer opponents. I can create and play with any number of human players but there are no computer players to select. Obviously in career play the opponents are selected automatically. I'm guessing the program hangs because "Dank" or "Big T" aren't there...
User avatar
Diver
Wannabe
Wannabe
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 12:00 pm

Re: VP3 stopped working

Postby 9balldotcom » Sun Apr 08, 2012 2:20 pm

Ive activated your original account and deleted the freefall one.You should now be able to post in the original profile.


Hopefully youll get a helpful response to your problem....however please bear in mind that Celeris are very busy at the moment finishing Virtual Pool 4
User avatar
9balldotcom
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2043
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 1:37 pm
Location: Kilmarnock(Scotland)

Re: VP3 stopped working

Postby Diver » Wed Apr 18, 2012 2:53 am

Thanks 9ball.

I'm guessing there's a corrupt file somewhere so I'll try unistalling/reinstalling again.

Edit: I've uninstalled, removed the Celeris folder from the Program Files folder, deleted all Celeris registry keys, restarted my laptop THEN reinstalled...

Still the game has NO COMPUTER OPPONENTS.

Is it worth downloading again, rather than using the copy I have saved? Surely any corruption of the installation file would prevent the game installing?
User avatar
Diver
Wannabe
Wannabe
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 12:00 pm

Re: VP3 stopped working

Postby 9balldotcom » Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:00 pm

Ive not heard of this issue of AI players missing,but I would download vp3 and try installing again.
User avatar
9balldotcom
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2043
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 1:37 pm
Location: Kilmarnock(Scotland)

Re: VP3 stopped working

Postby Diver » Thu Apr 19, 2012 12:22 pm

I have it installed on my wife's laptop too. Is there any way of copying the main files over? (I obviously have 2 serial numbers since they were purchased separately.)

I'm in the process of installing from HER saved download, not mine, because when I try to download it from Celeris they need a voucher code and $10...again!

I appreciate £6 is cheap for the game itself (I've bought it twice already, remember?) but if it won't reinstall I'd rather scrap it till VP4 arrives...

Edit: I changed the install directory to "...\Virtual Pool 3" rather than "...\Virtual Pool 3 DL". Seems okay again now. Had to tell Avast about its new location and may well have to add new exceptions to play online again.

All good now though, apart from playing from scratch to unlock all the tables. Ah well...
User avatar
Diver
Wannabe
Wannabe
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 12:00 pm

Re: VP3 stopped working

Postby AlinVille » Thu Apr 19, 2012 3:16 pm

Diver wrote:All good now though, apart from playing from scratch to unlock all the tables. Ah well...

Check this out:
http://celeris.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=1567
User avatar
AlinVille
V9BWC 2007,08
 
Posts: 652
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2007 3:48 pm
Location: Bucharest

Re: VP3 stopped working

Postby Diver » Sun Apr 22, 2012 2:51 am

Cheers Alinville, I figured there'd be a way. :oD
User avatar
Diver
Wannabe
Wannabe
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 12:00 pm


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest